The Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra (PPO) is the country’s leading orchestra and is widely regarded as one of the top musical ensembles in the Asia-Pacific region. It was established on May 15, 1973 as the CCP Philharmonic Orchestra and was initially intended to accompany performing artists at the Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (CCP Main Theater).

The PPO has performed with many of the world’s renowned conductors that included Helen Quach, Sister Maria Rosalina Abejo, RVM, Yoshinao Osawa, Mendi Rodan, Francisco Feliciano, Basilio Manalo, Rudolf Gerstenbauer, Piero Gamba, Enrique Batis, Sebastian Bereau, and Nicholas Koch, Jae Joon Lee, James Judd, and Yoshikazu Fukumura. It has also performed with the best foreign and Filipino artists such as Van Cliburn, Wilma Vernocchi, Albert Lysy, Peter Schmalfuss, Daniel Adni, Peter Roesel, Werner Taube, Renata Tebaldi, Judith Engel, Anthony Camden, Rony Rogoff, David Benoit, Odin Rathnam, Javier Bonet, Sergio Esmilla Jr., Aurelio Estanislao, Cecile Licad, Raul Sunico, and Lea Salonga.

The PPO has premiered Filipino compositions and has featured works by foreign composers not yet performed in the Philippines. It continues to promote music appreciation through outreach concerts in schools, parishes, government agencies, and underserved communities in Metro Manila and in different regions in the country.

Previous international performances by the Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra have been in Tokyo (2002), Bangkok (2004), Shanghai (2010), Beijing (2011) as well as various European cities (2001). June of 2016 marked the historic concert of the PPO as the first Philippine orchestra to perform at the world-renowned Carnegie Hall in New York.